Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards 2021

Overall Winners

A huge CONGRATULATIONS to Frances Jonas (Cricket) from Baradene College and Lewis Bower (Cycling) from Westlake Boys High School for winning the overall College Sport Auckland Young Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year awards for 2021. Click here to read about their amazing sporting achievements!


Overall Finalists

Congratulations to the below finalists for our overall male and female Young Sportsperson of the Year award. The overall Young Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year will be announced on Breakfast (TVNZ 1) on Thursday 25 November.

Overall Female Finalist
Penelope Salmon – Athletics and Orienteering, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart
Shaunna Li – Badminton, Rangitoto College
Frances Jonas – Cricket, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart
Vivien Li – Golf, Macleans College
Amelia Walmsley – Netball, Howick College
Gabrielle Murare – Softball, Mt Albert Grammar School
Anne Leakey – Squash, Orewa College
Elyse Tse – Tennis, Baradene College of the Sacred Heart
Sophie Spencer – Triathlon, Saint Kentigern College
Sophie Shorter-Robinson – Waterpolo, Diocesan School for Girls

Overall Male Finalist
James Harding – Athletics, King’s College
Zach Riley – Basketball, Rangitoto College
Lewis Bower – Cycling, Westlake Boys High School
Jacob Laban – Rugby League, Kelston Boys High School
Ajay Faleafaga – Rugby Union, St Peter’s College
Harrison Messenger – Snow sports, Kristin School
Ethan Skelton – Volleyball, Rangitoto College


Special Service Award

This year we have a Special Service Award that we are giving to Grant Jarvis from Pukekohe High School for his contribution to School Sport. Click here for more details and thank you Grant for all you have done!


Winners Announced

Please join us in congratulating this year’s  Young Sportsperson of the Year category winners! Click here to see category winners and to find out more about each winners achievements.

Also congratulations to all teams who won a New Zealand Secondary School Senior Championship throughout the year. The National Team Roll of Honour can be viewed by clicking here.


Finalists Announced 

We are excited to kick off our Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards for 2021 by announcing the category finalists.

Winners of each category will be announced on Monday 22 November. Good luck to all finalists!