Our Organisation

College Sport Auckland’s vision is that sport is valued as a vehicle for enhancing the wellbeing of all secondary school students in Auckland.

On behalf of the Greater Auckland secondary schools, we provide the leadership and support to ensure our vision is achieved. We facilitate consistent quality sport competitions and events, and work in partnerships to ensure the sporting experience is accessible, affordable, and rewarding.

College Sport Auckland has been operating since 1989 as a facilitator of secondary school sport in the Greater Auckland region. Currently there are 113 member schools and the organisation is governed by a board of six Principals and three independent members. We operate with nine staff, providing both season and tournament opportunities in partnership with regional sporting organisations.

College Sport Auckland Strategic Plan 2020-2022


Board Members

  • David Ferguson, Westlake Boys High School (Chair)
  • Mark Shanahan, Waitakere College (Deputy Chair)
  • Trina Tamati, Independent
  • Ngaire Ashmore, Auckland Girls’ Grammar School
  • Greg Pierce, Aorere College
  • Kirsten Hellier, Independent
  • Glen Denham, Massey High School
  • Steve Cole, Independent
  • Tim O’Connor, Auckland Grammar School



College Sport Auckland was established as a charitable entity in 1989 by the Principals of Auckland, to assist in the delivery of interschool sport to their member schools.

Before 1989, interschool sport in the region was run by teacher committees in various codes overseen by a body known as the Auckland Secondary Schools Headmaster’s Association. At this time, a boys committee and a girls committee assisted in the delivery of sport and the two earlier Headmaster’s Association chairmen in the 1980’s were Jack Kelly (Takapuna Grammar School) and Jim Paton (Kelston Boys High School). College Sport Auckland came about due to the proliferation of sport in the schools and the resultant increasing demands placed on teacher committees. It was the vision of the Principals that an independent professional administrative body backed up with bylaws and regulations was required to alleviate the pressure on these committees.


The ASSHA Establishment Board 1988-1989

  • Hugh Richards, Papatoetoe High School (Chair)
  • Nigel Toy, Saint Kentigern College
  • Tom Gerard, Rosmini College
  • John Graham, Auckland Grammar School
  • Dawn Jones, Diocesan School
  • Colin Pascoe, Westlake Boys High School
  • Murray Wilton, Dilworth School
  • Rob Boston, CEO

The Chair 1989-Present

  • Hugh Richards, Papatoetoe High School
  • Gail Thompson, Diocesan School
  • Chris Saunders, Onehunga High School
  • Byron Bentley, Macleans College
  • Mike Leach, King’s College
  • Mark Shanahan, Waitakere College


Member Schools

ACG Parnell College
ACG Strathallan College
ACG Sunderland College
Albany Junior High School
Albany Senior High School
Alfriston College
Al-Madinah School
Aorere College
Auckland Girls’ Grammar School
Auckland Grammar School
Auckland International College
Auckland Seventh Day Adventist High School
Avondale College
Baradene College
Birkenhead College
Botany Downs Secondary College
Carmel College
City Impact Church School
De La Salle College
Destiny School
Dilworth School
Diocesan School for Girls
Eden Christian Academy
Edgewater College
Elim Christian School
Epsom Girls Grammar School
Glendowie College
Glenfield College
Green Bay High School
Harbour Montessori College
Henderson High School
Hobsonville Point Schools
Horizon School
Howick College
James Cook High School
Kaipara College
Kelston Boys High School
Kelston Girls College
Kia Aroha College
King’s College
Kingsway School
Kristin School
Liston College
Long Bay College
Lynfield College
Macleans College
Mahurangi College
Mangere College
Manurewa High School
Marcellin College
Marist College
Massey High School
McAuley High School
Michael Park School
Middle School West Auckland
Mission Heights Junior College
Mt Albert Grammar School
Mt Roskill Grammar School
Northcote College
One Tree Hill College
Onehunga High School
Onewhero Area School
Orewa College
Ormiston Junior College
Ormiston Senior College
Otahuhu College
Pacific Advance Secondary School
Pakuranga College
Papakura High School
Papatoetoe High School
Pinehurst School
Pukekohe Christian School
Pukekohe High School
Rangitoto College
Rosehill College
Rosmini College
Rutherford College
Sacred Heart College
Saint Kentigern College
Sancta Maria College
Selwyn College
Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
South Auckland Middle School
Southern Cross Campus
St Cuthbert’s College
St Dominic’s Catholic College
St Mary’s College
St Paul’s College
St Peter’s College
Summit Point School
Takapuna Grammar School
Tamaki College
Tangaroa College
Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu
Te Kura Kaupapa Maori Hoani Waititi Marae
Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Mangere
Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Nga Maungarongo
Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Te Raki Paewhenua
Te Kura Maori o Nga Tapuwae
Te Wharekura o Manurewa
Tuakau College
Tyndale Park Christian School
Vanguard Military School
Waiheke High School
Waitakere College
Waiuku College
Wentworth College
Wesley College
Western Springs College
Westlake Boys High School
Westlake Girls High School
Whangaparaoa College
Zayed College for Girls


If you are a school Principal who would like to become a member of College Sport Auckland, please email school.sport@collegesport.co.nz to request an application form.