Secondary school rugby players recognised in representative team naming

New Zealand Rugby has announced the 2020 New Zealand Secondary Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools teams.

The teams will not play in 2020 but selectors have named the sides to recognise the efforts of the secondary school players this season.

NZR High Performance Talent Identification Manager PJ Williams said selections were made from players performances across the 1st XV season and the Barbarians Under 18 Development Camps last month.

“This is fantastic recognition for a group of players that have had a disrupted 1st XV season. I am sure they will be disappointed that they cannot pull on the black jersey this year, but being named in these teams is a great achievement, nonetheless.

“After the Barbarians Camp earlier this month, all players were given individual performance plans and we look forward to seeing what they achieve in coming years,” said Williams.

Congratulations to the following Auckland students who have been named in the NZSS & NZ Barbarian Schools teams.

New Zealand Secondary Schools team:

Ajay Faleafaga – St Peter’s College
Allan Craig – Saint Kentigern College
Che Clarke – King’s College
Fehi Fineanganofo – Auckland Grammar School
Luron Iosefa – King’s College
Caleb Tangitau – Westlake Boys’ High School
Will Bason – Saint Kentigern College

New Zealand Barbarians Schools team:

Chicago Doyle – King’s College
Dayton Iobu – King’s College
Jadin Kingi – Sacred Heart College
Jeremiah Asi – St Peter’s College
Te Rama Reuben – Saint Kentigern College
Tony Tafa – Kelston Boys’ High School
Wallace Sititi – De La Salle College

Click here for the full team lists.