Tennis Championships Decided

It was a busy week for secondary school tennis players with the Champ of Champs Tournament and the A1 and A2 finals being played at the Scarbro Tennis Centre.

One hundred and twenty individuals and fifty-three doubles teams took part in the Champ of Champs Tennis Tournament over two days with students competing in junior, intermediate, and senior doubles and singles matches.  The Senior Boys singles title was won by Chan Min from Rangitoto College and Renee Zhang from Kings College winning the Senior Girls title for the second year in a row.

The James Aitkenhead Shields are awarded to the schools gaining the greatest number of points in the boys’ and girls’ competitions respectively.  This year saw Auckland Grammar School winning the boys shield and Saint Kentigern College winning the girls shield.

Champ of Champs full results can be found here

In the A1 competitions Westlake Boys High School defeated Rangitoto College to win the boys title with Saint Kentigern College defeating St Cuthbert’s College to win the girls title.  In the A2 finals Sacred Heart College defeated Westlake Boys High School to win the boys and Kings College defeated Baradene College to win the girls title.