Ultimate Senior Indoor Championships

Over two weekends in Term 2 Ultimate Frisbee teams took to the courts at Bruce Pulman Arena, the Open Division playing on 20th June and the Girls Division playing on the 4th July. With no wind, the indoor version of the sport allows athletes to use their full arsenal of throws. Players were able to take advantage of this and showed a great display of passing and catching skills.

The Open Division saw the highly-seeded teams dominate the pool play, with Auckland Grammar School, Takapuna Grammar School and Westlake Boys High School booking their places in the quarter finals, joined by teams from Pakuranga College and Selwyn College.  Pakuranga College narrowly defeated Westlake Boys High School 8-7 in the playoff to claim 3rd place. Whereas the final saw the reigning indoor champions Takapuna Grammar School faceoff against the outdoor champions from term 1 – Auckland Grammar School.  In the end, the Auckland Grammar School team took 1st place, completing a clean sweep of the 2021 College Sport Auckland Outdoor and Indoor Championships, along with the New Zealand Secondary School Ultimate Championships.

In the Girls Division, the Epsom Girls Grammar Gold team lead the way from the beginning, which meant the focus for other teams in the competition was for who could get to the final to play them.  The competition for a spot in the final was a challenge with several teams competing in close games decided by only one or two points.  Baradene School, Birkenhead College, Avondale College and Selwyn College were all in the mix, but in the end it was the Epsom Girls Grammar Silver team that managed to come through the knock-out phases to make the final. Baradene School beat Avondale College claiming 3rd place. Whereas in the all Epsom Girls Grammar final, it was their Gold team that came through to take the win and top spot.

In a self-refereed sport like Ultimate, the concepts of sportsmanship and fair play are incredibly important and this is recognised with the Spirit of the Game Award which is scored by each opponent after every game.  Selwyn College White were the winner of this year’s award in the Open Division while Pakuranga College won the award in the Girls Division.

Most Valuable Players, also chosen by the opposition each game, were Josef Abuqamar from Avondale College and Brianna Murgatroyd from Selwyn College.

Results Overview:

Open Division

  1. Auckland Grammar School 1
  2. Takapuna Grammar School Senior
  3. Pakuranga College 1

Spirit of the Game: Selwyn College White
Most Valuable Player: Josef Abuqamar (Avondale College)

Girls Division:

  1. Epsom Girls Grammar Gold
  2. Epsom Girls Grammar Silver
  3. Baradene School

Spirit of the Game: Pakuranga College
Most Valuable Player: Brianna Murgatroyd (Selwyn College)

Click here for the full competition results.