National School Road Cycling Champions

The 50th National School Road Cycling Championships were held last weekend in Manawatu. Almost 700 cyclists from 83 schools competed in the three-day event which included a team time trial, road race and points race.

The Sir Bernard Fergusson trophy for the U20 Boys Team Time Trial was hotly contested this year, with five teams finishing within 30 seconds of each other. Defending champions Palmerston North Boys High School were last to start, and failed to capture Auckland Grammar School who reversed their second placing from last year. Hamilton Boys’ High were the initial leaders and with only 2km to go were ahead by six seconds but Auckland Grammar finished like the wind though and finished with a new course record.

Baradene College took the overall top girls school honours with their strong performances throughout the weekend, followed by Epsom Girls Grammar School in second place.

Auckland Grammar School claimed second place for boys overall points behind Christchurch Boys High School.

The following Auckland students and teams also claimed national titles over the weekend.

Baradene College:
U16 Girls Team Time Trial Champions
Jenna Merrick, U20 Girls Road Race Champion

Saint Kentigern College:
Year 7 & 8 Girls Team Time Trial Champions
Ruby Spring, U13 Girls Points Race Champion

Takapuna Grammar School:
August Elworthy, U14 Boys Road Race Champion & Points Race Champion
Lucy Buckeridge, U15 Girls Road Race Champion

Click here for the full results