NZSS Water Polo Squads Named for Trans-Tasman Tests

New Zealand Water Polo has announced the trialists for the 2017 New Zealand Secondary Schools Teams.

Thirteen players will be selected in each team to travel to Canberra, Australia, from 16-21 December 16-21 to play in the 2017 Trans-Tasman Test Series from 18-20 December.

New Zealand is the defending champion in both series, winning in Auckland last year.

The New Zealand Schoolboys and New Zealand Schoolgirls have competed in an annual three-test series against Australia since 1982. The New Zealand Schoolboys have won the series ten times, and the New Zealand Schoolgirls eight, including the last three.

2015 was the first time that a New Zealand male team had won a series against Australia in Australian waters. The series are hosted alternatively in Australia and New Zealand.

Auckland students named in the NZ Schoolgirls squad are:
Olivia Casey, Baradene College
Lucia Doak, Kristin School
Bernadette Doyle, St Cuthbert’s College
Ella Harford, St Cuthbert’s College
Charlie Hooke, Diocesan School for Girls
Kaitlyn Howarth, Rangitoto College
Shannon Hughes, Carmel College
Krista Laing, St Cuthbert’s College
Bridget Layburn, Westlake Girls High school
Alice Leonard, Diocesan School for Girls
Gabriella MacDonald, Saint Kentigern College
Morgan McDowall, Diocesan School for Girls
Sammie Milicich, Baradene College
Claudia Morgan, Kristin School
Hannah Ngare, Diocesan School for Girls
Tai Nimo, St Cuthbert’s College
Caitlin Mary Parker Allen, St Cuthbert’s College
Sarah Stewart, Carmel College
Ellie Tomoana, St Cuthbert’s College
Clodagh Weir, Kristin School
Charlotte Worth, Baradene College

Auckland students named in the NZ Schoolboys squad are:
Nick Barr, Auckland Grammar School
Caleb Brooke, King’s College
George Brown, King’s College
Rowan Brown, Rangitoto College
Daniel Cameron, St Peter’s College
James Catlin, Rosmini College
Calum De Jager, Auckland Grammar School
Matt Dell, Sacred Heart College
Louie Ferigo, Sacred Heart College
Ben Fleming, Saint Kentigern College
Ronan Gogarty-Watson, St Peter’s College
Amosa Gould, King’s College
Sam Groom, Rangitoto College
Nick Hermans, Sacred Heart College
Byron Kingan, Saint Kentigern College
Korban Kirk, Westlake Boys’ High School
Bronson Larsen, Sacred Heart College
Brandon Matthews, Long Bay College
Alex McDonald, Saint Kentigern College
Alex McNaught, Saint Kentigern College
Adam Milne, Avondale College
Matt Morris, Rangitoto College
Nick Paterson, Macleans College
Blake Pavlovich, Westlake Boys High School
Billy Simpson, Saint Kentigern College
Michael Slessor-White, Rosmini College
Kane Smith, Mt Albert Grammar School
Ben Sterritt, Saint Kentigern College
Matt Stirling, Saint Kentigern College
Hamish Sullivan, Sacred Heart College

Click here for the full lists of NZSS trialists.