NZSS Netball Squad for 2018 Announced

A 23-strong squad has been named following the National Development Camp in Cambridge last week.

NZSS coach Mary-Jane Araroa said a final team would be named after the NZ Age Group Championships in July in the build-up to matches against the Australian Under-17 squad in Canberra in September.

“We are excited with what we have seen at the National Development Camp and opted to name a squad at this time to enable us to monitor and track these athletes over the next six months” she said.

Araroa said the National Camp provided the panel the opportunity to assess athletes from all over the country.

“Players were selected from all the national age group competitions, regional Secondary School tournaments and last year’s NZ Secondary Schools tournament which gave us the chance to observe a large number of athletes in one place.”

Auckland students named in the squad are:

Armani Lam – Mt Albert Grammar School
Bianca Nagaiya – Epsom Girls Grammar School
Ella Williams – St Cuthbert’s College
Greer Sinclair – Epsom Girls Grammar School
Jess Gemmell – St Cuthbert’s College
Killarney Morey – Epsom Girls Grammar School
Leehava Saverio – Howick College
Nanise Waqairo – Howick College
Ruby Young – Mt Albert Grammar School
Tayla Earle – Saint Kentigern College
Teuila Sotutu – Howick College
Vika Koloto – Baradene College

Click here to view the full squad list