NZSS Condor 7’s Events


The 31st annual Youthtown Condor Sevens National Finals will be staged at Sacred Heart College, Auckland from Thursday, November 30, through to Sunday, December 3, 2017.

This year will see over hundred teams compete across four divisions. On Thursday and Friday the U15 boys and girls titles will be settled. The weekend will culminate with the open boys and girls events on Saturday and Sunday.

The Condor Sevens was first staged in 1986 and won by the 2017 host school. The boys event has been has been staged annually ever since, while the girls tournament was added in 2012 and the Under-15 competitions last year.

In the open boys event, Wesley College are the most successful school in tournament history having claimed the title six times. Kelston Boys’ High School have been victorious five times, including a record four times in a row between 2010 and 2013. Kelston return in 2017 as the Auckland champions.

The YouthTown Condor Sevens has been a pathway to greater things for many future internationals, including College Sport Auckland’s 1993 Young Sportsman of the Year – Jonah Lomu.

The YouthTown Condor Sevens will be covered extensively on the tournament’s official Facebook page. The open finals on Sunday will also be broadcast live and exclusive on the Rugby Channel.

Click here for the full article.