

# **Basketball Zones**

# **Entry Information 2024**

#### **Dates**

Entries Closing:	Wednesday 10 April 2024			
Season:	Tuesday 7 May – Thursday 8 August			
Please note:	Greater Auckland Girls Playoffs: Thursday 15 August Greater Auckland Boys Playoffs: Friday 16 August Greater Auckland Semi Finals and Finals: Tuesday 20 August			

### **Age Groups**

- Junior: Year 9 or 10 only in the year of competition
- U17: Players must be aged under 17 as at 1<sup>st</sup> January 2024 (includes students who turn 17 in the year of the competition).
- Open: As is stated in the CSA Bylaws, a student must be under the age of 19 years on January 1 of the year of competition (18 years of age or younger on 1<sup>st</sup> January 2024).
  - \*This grade is to be considered for possible promotion into Senior A.

### **Entries**

- Entries must be submitted online via EnterNOW by 11.59pm Wednesday 10 April 2024
- Referee requirements differ during grading and the season, please see referee section below and/or in the zones handbook.
- Each team shall consist of no more than 12 team members entitled to play.
- Players have the ability to play in more than one team, but not at the expense of other players, and player loading must be considered by all schools.
- Teams withdrawn after the entry closing date will still be liable for the entry fee.
- Late entries will not be accepted.
- College Sport will invoice schools once the season has begun.
- By entering this competition, you agree to College Sport Auckland's Code of Conduct (please see website).
- By entering any College Sport Auckland competition schools give permission for College Sport Auckland to use images taken at events/competitions on the College Sport website and social media platforms.

#### Grading

Grading was removed in 2023 based on feedback from the 2022 season review. Schools will instead enter teams into grades they best believe reflects their teams ability.

#### **Team Management**

Each team must have an adult (preferably coach/manager) with them at start of the game and during the entire game for each game throughout the season. This person is to complete the score sheet before the game, be aware of any medical problems of players in the team, implement the rules of the competition and supervise the players. Schools are also responsible for their own first aid.

If a team does not have an adult present, they will lose by Default (no competition points awarded). Adult supervisors should identify each other at the beginning of the game.

#### **Score Bench & Floor Controller**

Teams are responsible for their own score bench duties for their own games. 1 person from each team to assist with either the iPad – glory league scoring or the game score. Training will be provided for those entering data on iPads into glory league. At the conclusion of each game the venue controller or referee will check with the score that it is correct and submit the final score. Once submitted on Glory League this score is the final.

#### Referees

During the season referees will be provided for Open A Grade only, all other grades (A & B Grades) must supply a minimum of 1 x referee per game, per team. Teams that do not provide a referee will lose by default (20 - 0 win to the opposing school).

Referee clinics have been arranged by ABSL and the RSD for each zone. Schools to be notified of up-coming referee courses offered by ABS – TBC.

### **Grades, Days, Times\***

- Open Grade is not a "social" grade. Entering in Open A is the only way your team can qualify to get into Senior A.
- Please be prepared to play from 4.00pm onwards.

Zone	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday
Central East	Boys Open Boys U17	Boys Junior Girls Junior	Girls Open Girls U17
Central West		Boys Open Girls Open Boys Junior Girls Junior	Boys U17 Girls U17
Counties Manukau	Boys Open Girls Open Boys U17 Girls U17		Boys Junior Girls Junior

<sup>\*</sup>Playing days/dates/venues may be subject to change due to number of teams entered and venue availability.

#### **Rules**

The Rules & Regulations are outlined in the Basketball Zone handbook (available on the College Sport website; <a href="www.collegesport.co.nz">www.collegesport.co.nz</a>). This also includes the policy on withdrawals, defaults & rescheduled matches, and other policies you should be aware of.

### **School Zones 2024**

#### **Central East**

**ACG Parnell College** 

Auckland Girls Grammar School Baradene College of the Sacred Heart Botany Downs Secondary College

Dilworth School

Diocesan School for Girls Edgewater College Elim Christian College

**Epsom Girls Grammar School** 

Glendowie College Howick College Macleans College Marcellin College Michael Park School One Tree Hill College Pakuranga College

Sacred Heart College (Akld)
Saint Kentigern College

Selwyn College St Cuthbert's College St Mary's College (Akld)

Tamaki College Waiheke High School

## **Central West**

ACG Sunderland

**Auckland Grammar School** 

Avondale College Elim Christian College Green Bay High School Henderson High School Kelston Boys High School Kelston Girls College

Liston College Lynfield College Marist College

Mt Albert Grammar School

Massey High School

Middle School West Auckland Mt Roskill Grammar School Onehunga High School Rutherford College

St Dominic's Catholic College

St Paul's College (Akld)

St Peter's College (Akld)

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Ngā Maungarongo Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Hoani Waititi

Waitakere College Western Springs College

#### **Counties-Manukau**

ACG Strathallan College

Alfriston College Aorere College

Auckland Seventh Day Adventist High School

De La Salle College Destiny School

James Cook High School

Kia Aroha College Kings College Mangere College Manurewa High School McAuley High School

Mission Heights Junior College

Onewhero Area School Ormiston Junior College Ormiston Senior College Otahuhu College Pacific Advance Senior School

Papakura High School
Papatoetoe High School
Pukekohe High School
Rosehill College
Sancta Maria College
Sir Edmund Hillary Collegiate
Southern Cross Campus

Tangaroa College Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Mangere Te Kura Māori o Ngā Tapuwae Te Wharekura o Manurewa

Tuakau College Waiuku College Wesley College

<sup>\*</sup>Please notify College Sport Auckland if your school is missing from this list